Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > Work-At-Home Professions > Transcription & Writing > Writing: Freelancing

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 04-05-2013, 06:45 PM
WAHM Regular

Default New to freelancing

Hi everyone,

I am new to freelance writing and would like to work for content mills. I have google searched and got a ton that I have tried to sift through.

I have read multiple blogs and most say to go with a content mill that pays at least 5 cents a work or $20/400 words.

My problem is, I can't find a company that pays like that.

Anyone have suggestions?

A little about me, I'm a labor and delivery nurse of 7 years (I'm in management now), I'm an identical twin, debt free, married with two children, and love to work out and cook.

I love to research and love to write, so I want to get started...

I tried to sign up for a few companies, but I don't want my inbox full of worthless junk.
Sponsored Links
Old 04-05-2013, 08:13 PM
Awesome WAHM

Unfortunately, few content mills pay 5 cents a word. Many start out at about $1.50 for 400 words. You have a particular area of education and expertise that creates a unique advantage. If you can market the nursing education and work experience, then that is a great niche with possibly higher levels of pay. Setting up a website to find clients in your niche is a great idea. Keep in mind many clients will still hire writers at a lower pay scale to write medical content.