Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 09-13-2006, 07:08 PM
WAHM Regular

Hey guys,

I'm looking to get into general transcription but I've no experience. Is there any good books out there that you could recommend that have sample audio files with print outs of what they look like. Its just I took the test for Escriptionist a while back and they didn't hire me so I really want to study this and get some practice before I apply anywhere else.

Any help/advice would be really appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Old 09-13-2006, 08:03 PM
Awesome WAHM

Hello, and welcome.

Actually, the best way to get into transcription is to practice your typing. A transcriptionist usually needs to possess the following:

1. Good typing skills

2. An excellent knowledge of grammar, punctuation and spelling.

3. An ability to follow instructions properly.

4. The ability to proofread and submit documents correctly.

5. Good communication skills.

6. Good working knowledge of MS Word and/or Word Perfect. (Usually, MS Word is the most popular program used.)

7. High-speed Internet

8. A good, updated computer with MS Word installed, which is incorporated within the MS Office Suite. You would need at least MS Word 2000. There is a trial version, from what I understand, on Microsoft's website.

Software needed:

1. A program in which to play the audio, such as Express Scribe, which is a free download on the Internet. You should check all settings and have it accept all file types.

2. Download a free FTP (File Transfer Protocol) program, such as FTP Commander, to transfer the files to your computer from the company's server,should you be accepted at a company which uses an FTP client.

Hardware needed: