Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 05-29-2014, 12:23 PM
Registered WAHM

Default My story, and a question

Good afternoon to all. This is my first time on this board. It is a pleasure to read each and every story here. I am not sure if this would even be in the correct thread, but here goes nothing. First, my story. I am 35 years of age, reside in North Carolina and am totally blind, and have been since birth. I am married, with no children, I am receiving SSDI benefits. I just moved from Richmond Virginia about two years ago. I wanted to be closer to my wife's relatives. I worked for ten years in the customer service and call center industry, and am ready for a change from a traditional work environment to working from home. I have applied to multiple companies to work from home, with no success. The issue is that when I disclose my disability, and the fact that I need specialized software called JAWS in order to do my job, they tell me that their systems are not compatible. I actually have a licensed copy of the software, so the company does not need to purchase it. I also applied for services through my state's vocational rehab agency. The agency was unsuccessful in finding me work from home opportunities. I found the opportunities myself, and received all necessary equipment from the state rehab agency in order to work. I did work briefly for a company Sutherland Global for a season, which is how I obtained my assistive technology in order to start working from home. I was let go after my case with the rehab agency was closed successfully. What I really want to do is to work from home as a quality call analyst, where I listen to and grade phone calls. Does anyone have any sugge