Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 02-22-2015, 04:41 PM
Registered WAHM

Default Advice on work computer purhase

Hi all. I am new to wahm and plan to submit my resume to a couple companies but just wanted to ask: I currently own a laptop but plan to work on desk top used specifically for work. Would it be best to wait until a job offer to purchase the desk top or should I go ahead and get one before and are the parameters for computer memory etc usually given with the position opening?
Sponsored Links
Old 02-24-2015, 11:13 AM
WAHM Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammer View Post
Hi all. I am new to wahm and plan to submit my resume to a couple companies but just wanted to ask: I currently own a laptop but plan to work on desk top used specifically for work. Would it be best to wait until a job offer to purchase the desk top or should I go ahead and get one before and are the parameters for computer memory etc usually given with the position opening?
Most work from home opportunities dont require much in the way of computing power! 4-6GB RAM, 250GB hard drive space, microphone and a webcam are usually all that's needed. Don;t make excises, apply for jobs now!
Old 02-24-2015, 11:38 AM
Registered WAHM

I've noticed some dont allow win 8, so you might want to get Win 7.
4 GB Ram, I'd get at least a 500 GB HDD, Usually a good resolution monitor is required, so get a video that can support at least 1040x768 but higher is better. I'd go with a 21" monitor minimum.
You may or may not need a webcam, and each company seems to have a headset they prefer you use, so I'd hold off on those until you find out the requirements.