Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:32 AM
cwoods333's Avatar
WAHM Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2,767
Question Computer Network System

Starting a new construction business with my brother, I will do the books but he needs to have access to the software to update the status of the job or create a new job. We might also be hiring sales agents too they will only create the lead into a job number then we take over for there.

My question what network or server do I need to do this?

I am thinking of using Peachtree software and might have employees latter on. Do I need a server or what and who do you recommend that has all this stuff and can help me to set it up.

Any information that you can provide me would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Carlene

PS The cheapest and best way of doing this.

Last edited by cwoods333; 12-14-2010 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Adding comment
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 06:52 AM
Yogi's Avatar
Awesome WAHM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 980
Default

Cheapest and best never go together. Lots of variables. What do you mean by access? Remote from his smart phone while on a job? Or "move over for a few minutes while I key this stuff in"? Just to create a job number, he could send you an email for you to put the info in, or YOU could generate the job number and tell him what it is.

Lots of ways to skin a cat.

Same for Peachtree vs Quickbooks. And self-payroll vs ADP.

Keep it as simple as you can, and don;t be afraid to change your processes to keep it simpler. You can always grow bigger, but sometimes its hard to get smaller.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 08:28 AM
cwoods333's Avatar
WAHM Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2,767
Default

Thanks for the reply I did find that Dell Computers has a T310 Poweredge Server which is supposely allows me to share the computer I believe or off site as well they told me to wait tell I need help to give me any more information not really know to much about it but I guess that means I don't need a network.

Thanks again I appreicate you help on this Yogi.

Carlene
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:07 PM
cwoods333's Avatar
WAHM Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2,767
Default

Another option I can use is go to my pc.com this is roughly $99.00 a year.

Just thought I would add in case someone else is looking for ideas.

Carlene
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:33 AM
Yogi's Avatar
Awesome WAHM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 980
Default

Screen sharing programs might work for you. But you should evaluate if you really need the capability, since they introduce more variables into the computer that may cause problems. New potential holes for virus attacks, SLower operation.
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off