WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

cthorne111
08-22-2015, 02:16 PM
Hi,
I live in a remote area of Canada where work is very scarce, and although I have 10 years of management experience and many varied skills, finding a suitable job in my area is nearly impossible. Therefore I have been looking into work from home options, and I came across transcription. Because I have excellent typing ability and a very good grasp of spelling, grammar, and punctuation, it seems that it may be a good option for me. Of course I have read all kinds of information on the internet about it, and it would seem that taking some training for doing medical transcription may pay off quite a bit in the long term when it comes to finding employment and making more money. I am looking for some input from those who are now experienced doing transcription from home - if you were in my situation, with what you know now, what would be your plan of action? And how much money can I expect to make starting off on my own, or with a medical transcription course, or after a year or two of experience? Thanks for replying.

Gutsy
08-24-2015, 12:57 AM
Hi I would do exactly the same as I did when I started in 2005 - set up a website, start marketing and just do it!

Itsjusmeli
08-25-2015, 05:18 PM
I have been working for nearly a decade in general transcription. General does not generally require a special course. If you have excellent spelling, grammar, and punctuation abilities, and you have a good ear, then you should be able to test and get a GT position.