WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.




View Full Version : Odesk question


singlewahmof4
09-21-2008, 07:29 PM
Hey, I was just offered a position that I applied off of Odesk. Does anyone know if the jobs on here are legit companies and not spam or scams? The reason I am asking is because the email I received regarding hiring me said I had to attend this webinar, but before I could get the invitation to the webinar I had to go to their site to create a username and password, so I click on the link and it takes me to a 14 day trial of WebEx. The email gave me lots of information about the position and what exactly I would be doing for them and nothing sounded funny about except for this one thing. It also gave me the name and 800 number of the hiring manager to call for questions. I haven't called the number yet because I just received this email tonight and as far as I am concerned checking the phone number isn't really going to prove anything because anyone these days can get an 800 number and make it sound like their company is legit. I hope that someone can help me. If it sounds okay to anyone of you than I will go ahead and sign up. I have sent them an email asking them the same thing, figured they would either understand me questioning it or they would get offended, or even scared off and never contact me again. LOL!! I am hoping it is legit because it pays $16.25 an hour for 15 hours and no more than 40 hours.


EclecticWAHM
09-21-2008, 09:06 PM
Oh, I've heard something about a scam with WebEx involved. Do you have to give your credit card information for the trial? I wish I could remember exactly what it was, but I know there was a scam going around where people were sent to WebEx.

What is the job, exactly? Do you know what the duties are?

singlewahmof4
09-22-2008, 04:58 AM
This is what I received:

Hello,

Recently, you replied to our job posting on Craigslist.org seeking a Virtual Assistant. If you are receiving this email from me, it means that your resume has been reviewed, accepted, and you have been selected as a possible candidate for the advertised position(s).

As you know, we are currently seeking Virtual Assistants who will serve as Customer Service Representatives for our Real Estate Firm. We manage various Real Estate Agencies and Management Companies throughout 46 major US cities and we have even expanded to some Canadian cities.

As there were two listings posted which needed to be filled, this particular position is for a CSR. Responsibilities will include posting new listings, taking occasional phone calls and routing them to the proper agent, scheduling showings and paging listing agents. Agents will take and schedule maintenance calls and occasionally deal with tenant emergencies (leaks, major repairs, etc).

Candidates should have average to above average office skills, good comprehension, and should be able to type at a considerable pace in order to take messages effectively.

Pay is $16.25 per hour and you should be able to work a minimum of 15 hours each week, with the maximum being 40 hours. Payments are made weekly via check or direct deposit. Calls will be routed to the phone number of your choice (Us number preferred) during the time you are signed into our system only. This will not prohibit you from taking personal calls, as your screen will indicate when it is a call being routed from us. If calls are not answered after 4 rings they are re-routed to another agent.

All applicants need to attend a web based meeting where you will be shown each aspect of the job in detail, as well as have any questions answered. Please set aside 1 hour to complete this, and also be prepared to take notes. Prior to attending the webinar, a 3 page test will be emailed to you. which will serve to gauge your comprehension and computer skills. In order to meet our deadline of a September 29th start date, all documents, tests and orientation should be completed no later than September 26th.

To receive an invitation to the webinar, Please visit our website at:

http://realestateinvestinglistings.info/webmeeting/ and create a username that consists of your last name and first initial. If this is unavailable please make a comparable name consisting of your last name and beginning letters of your first name.

After I receive your username and tests, I will send you a few manuals to look over, a choice of 2 times to attend orientation, and a file containing fully functional copies of all necessary software that you will need to have installed and ready before orientation. It is not necessary for you to purchase any software or programs for this job.

Please note: You are not guaranteed employment until you receive an email from myself entitled "Welcome Aboard". Before this time, All tests, orientation and paperwork must be completed, the results of which will determine your employment eligibility with us.

Please let me know if there is anything I can help with,

Frank Peters
Hiring Coordinator
(877) 655-8730

The information provided in this email is solely for the addressee. The information herein shall not be extended to other individuals, nor should the opportunity be forwarded or extended to any third party. Doing so is cause to have your invitation revoked. Applications are closed and emails forwarded to friends or family will not be replied.

Man, I wish I could just find legit positions and quit getting all these scams.


EclecticWAHM
09-22-2008, 08:13 AM
Hmmmm...I don't know. If you go to their website, but take off the "webmeeting" thing at the end, it goes to an "under construction" website. That's a red flag right there. There's just something not right about this, I think. I could be wrong, but I personally wouldn't do it.

pepoc
09-22-2008, 08:40 AM
First thing that struck me as odd is that you said Odesk, but the email says Craiglist. Either way... I did a Google search of the phone number and came up with a hit from WAHM actually.

http://www.wahm.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=559567&PID=2436387

singlewahmof4
09-22-2008, 09:34 AM
Thanks! Yea after looking at it and looking at it and remembering all the actual jobs that I have had, this email put up more and more red flags.

berlykim55
09-22-2008, 09:39 AM
I saw the Odesk listing and that craigslist listing ... its also posted on a ton of free job sites. Odesk clears out the B.S. jobs the best they can but it can take them awhile to catch on.

jackie081184
09-23-2008, 01:37 PM
Well I have worked fro several legit work at homes that trainingis done through Web ex. But you do not pay for it its simply a link that the company provides you as they pay for the web ex services and your simply logging on to your training or meeting session. I think that email you received is a scam. You have to be very careful with the postings on craiglist as anyone can post on there and not that reliable. Good luck in your search in my opinion stay away from this one hun.
Jackie