Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 01-05-2015, 02:10 PM
Registered WAHM

Default Don't believe the hype...?

I'm a bit of newbie to the freelance writing game.

Just for background -- I've written all my life, and people have often told me I'm a good writer. I've always enjoyed the reactions my writing has had on folks, and the power of good written communication. I sold my first writing many moons ago to a national tabloid, but then slacked off writing for publication.

I decided to embark on a freelance career about 6 months ago, thinking I should give it a go while I have savings and before I'm just too old.

Another thing that encouraged me, however was the number of people (purportedly) making a full-time living as freelance web writers. I even read that there were people out there making 6 figures -- so surely I should be able to support myself after 6 months, I thought, if I just tried hard enough.

Now I'm realizing that most of the "pretty pictures" of 6-figure incomes were painted by people trying to sell writing courses and stuff like that. In the "gold rush" these were people selling the shovels, with a vested interest in propagating optimistic forecasts.

There are a lot of them on another forum I post to, and they don't tolerate any questioning of what a dream career writing is and how easy it is to make it. According to them, the market is so hungry that all you have to do is dive in.

It's sad in a way, because some people make life (and career) decisions based on what they read about writing careers.