Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 01-01-2015, 05:02 PM
Registered WAHM

Question How Important is Social Media?

I've been freelancing off and on for almost six years now. It was never a full-time career, but after a couple of major life changes like getting married and wanting to be self-employed, I'm looking to make it a permanent source of income. It's not been easy since a lot has changed from when I first started, but I'm dipping my toes in the water again.

One of the biggest changes I've noticed is the use of social media to promote your work. I hate to say this, but I really, really do not like social media. I don't even use it in on a personal basis, so the idea of creating one is not appealing in the least. Just thinking about making a website for myself is daunting enough.

My question is, how important is using social media when it comes to promoting/marketing your work? Do you see it as an absolute necessity or have you gotten along just fine without it?

Last edited by CharmingBirch; 01-01-2015 at 05:03 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-2015, 03:23 AM
WAHM Regular

I use social media personally, but never for work.
Old 01-02-2015, 07:04 AM
WAHM Addict

If you plan on doing any rev share or ebook writing, then it's going to be important. It's also a good way to find some clients. To me it's making a big difference.
Old 01-12-2015, 08:08 AM
Registered WAHM

I guess it depends on what sort of work you're doing. For freelance blogging, the medium-sized sites will want to know you're going to promote things personally. If you're looking for private clients though, or shooting for the really big blogs, it won't make a lot of difference.