Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 04-02-2013, 07:07 PM
Awesome WAHM

Default Elance Question

How does pay work on Elance? Is it the same structure as oDesk. For example, on oDesk, if it's an hourly job the pay takes about two weeks but if it's fixed, once you receive the payment, you get it in about 5 days from the day client sent payment. Is it the same or is it different? I'm doing a practice gig for a client on here. It's my first time using Elance and I didn't find too much info on payment.
Sponsored Links
Old 04-02-2013, 08:42 PM
WAHM Regular

It's very much like Freelancer.com.

You'll bid against a ton of people bidding super low but offering poop quality writing with bad English. If you explain yourself well, have good example articles and links to published material, you can do well if you find a client who knows the market. Most people will hire the low guys a couple times, get burned and stop doing that.

Unfortunately, you WILL have to take a few horrid jobs at next to no pay to get a decent "rating" or "reputation" usually.
Old 04-02-2013, 09:00 PM
Awesome WAHM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rsunset View Post
It's very much like Freelancer.com.

You'll bid against a ton of people bidding super low but offering poop quality writing with bad English. If you explain yourself well, have good example articles and links to published material, you can do well if you find a client who knows the market. Most people will hire the low guys a couple times, get burned and stop doing that.

Unfortunately, you WILL have to take a few horrid jobs at next to no pay to get a decent "rating" or "reputation" usually.