Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 11-14-2012, 03:51 PM
Awesome WAHM

Default Job search - out of ideas!

I am attempting to land a proofreading gig since I have extensive training and experience in this area.

I have turned over every leaf possible. A past editor of mine has been with me along the way and neither of us know what is "going on."

In addition to submitting resumes/CVs/applications online, I have submitted resumes/CVs to offline potential clients as well.

I decided to take a chance on another job finding idea, presenting on- and offline light proofreading errors to appropriate persons in charge. Being thanked for my findings, that is as far as my leads go. (I do offer my proofreading services, by the way.)

I am out of ideas...
Sponsored Links
Old 11-14-2012, 10:58 PM
Awesome WAHM

We all want to be successful, and I get that.

To say further, I am not out to steal anyone's ideas or clients. I just want to know if you have any generic tips/ideas on things that I am missing.
Old 11-15-2012, 03:43 AM
WAHM Addict

What I've found is that emailing website owners about errors on their sites rarely goes over well. I've tried it in the past and some have done the quick, "thanks for pointing it out," there are others who get horribly defensive. I had one local restaurant tell me that only snobs pay attention to spelling/grammar, another site, our local newspaper, told me that it's rude to point out errors, and then one said if I have nothing better to do that find grammar and spelling errors, I need to get a life. I say if they're charging $30 - $40 a month for the paper, they need to stop outsourcing their copy editors as they started doing a year ago.