Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 02-09-2012, 04:50 PM
Banned

Default Writing for Print?

Who here writes for print.. like newspaper articles and magazines? If you don't mind sharing, I am curious how you get these types of jobs. Did you send them a proposal, or did they find your website?
Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-2012, 05:10 PM
Super WAHM

I write for print occasionally. It’s how I started freelancing. I took a writing for publications class about 11 years ago, which taught how to write queries. For the most part, you pitch an idea. Send a one page query letter to a publication about the story you want to write. There are a ton of books and websites on how to write queries.

I am no expert, but my queries usually consist of an opening paragraph, which I “sell the story”. Next paragraph I explain what I will do with it, word count, who my sources will be ect.. Why this story is relevant and needed.

Third paragraph, I explain why I am the right person for the story, writing background or degree, personal experience with the subject. Lastly I say I included clips (if you do).

You get one of four responses, which include: no response at all, which happens a ton, no thanks, also happens a lot, they want you to write it on spec. This means you write the story, but they are not promising to buy it. Or if you are lucky, you’ll get a go ahead and a contract.

For the most part, that’s what I did. Just be prepared, because there is a ton of rejection ( or maybe that’s just me Anyway the other thing I did, was send an introductory packet with a cover letter and clips stating I was interested in being a stringer for their newspaper. I did this for local publications.