Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 12-29-2017, 03:43 PM
Registered WAHM

Default MT or Medical coding or something else?

Hey guys. I am new to the work from home job market. I have read some places that MT is a dying thing. I have looked at doing online classes but donít want to pay for something that wonít be a logical option. I am up for any advice, whether you think legal transcription or whatever is the best choice for a newbie. My main concern is helping to bring in income since I canít work away from home with my fibromyalgia. Thanks in advance for any advice !
Sponsored Links
Old 02-03-2018, 03:28 PM
WAHM Regular

While the medical transcription field has evolved greatly with the advent of new technology, that doesn't mean it is no longer a valid career choice. In some places the emphasis is on editing, which is why Career Step has evolved with the field to include Medical Transcription Editing as part of its certification.
I will say that Medical Transcription is a job that pays on production, so it is a field best suited to
1. those who are fast workers, i.e., if i you read faster than most and always found yourself impatiently working ahead in school; and
2. those who already have a good grasp on grammar in general.

Properly trained medical transcriptionists are in demand. MModal, one of the largest Medical Transcription employers in the nation just increased their pay for medical transcription editors over 50% and 30% for standard transcription.