Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 11-09-2014, 02:48 PM
WAHM Fanatic

Default Work At Home Seems to Mean Work for Cheap

Sorry, but I have to vent. I have been working at home for two years and just got laid off from a home based employee position with a half way descent salary. It started out as a terribly paying IC position and was a stepping stone, but since the economy sucks and my company had to cut back, I am now back to the drawing board looking for work at home.

Why is it that employers feel it is ok to pay a terrible wage and demand top notch skills and in many cases a degree and spotless background? They love to point out the fact that you will save money on clothing and gasoline expense. While true, the money most of them save by not paying benefits, social security tax, unemployment insurance is huge. Not to mention the fact that most use our equipment, our internet, our home office and electricity all for free causing them no overhead. They could bump the amount of pay significantly and still be ahead.

I am not sure who can live on $8-$10 per hour. I know I can't.

I refuse to apply to these call center jobs that have been around forever offering the same low wages for a miserable job taking back to back calls while sealing myself in a room for 8 hours at a time. Their pay never seems to increase, yet the cost of everything else does.

Never thought I would be drawing unemployment and I hope I don't have to for long, but I refuse to take a job that is barely above minimum wage just because I work out of my home office. Anyone else feel the same?
Sponsored Links
Old 11-09-2014, 05:09 PM
Registered WAHM

Default Work At Home Seems to Mean Work for Cheap