Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 03-22-2014, 06:20 PM
WAHM Regular

Default Thinking of becoming an agent...

Hi all, I have been a part of this community for several years however never came to this section before. I bought the first of 3 classes to become an agent in the state of Minnesota. I am a Teacher - well, I haven't taught my own classroom in several years due to this horrible economy. I have been substitute teaching. The money isn't that great. I was thinking of becoming an agent and doing that part time - of course being able to dedicate more hours in the summer but still have to have a normal paycheck to pay the bills. I was wondering if anyone could shed light on the industry for me. I have contacted a Broker about possibly working under them. In my state we have to work under a broker for 3 years. Is this something that could pay the bills or would I be wasting my time and money on the classes?

Thanks in advance for any info!
Dawn
Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-2014, 06:30 PM
WAHM Regular

You don't get a paycheck as an agent. You're an independent contractor, and you only get paid when a sale closes.

You should expect to work full time for at least 6 months before you make your first sale. Working part-time, you probably won't get any business. Brokers don't give a lot of leads to part-time agents because they typically don't do a great job managing their transactions. You'll show properties on weekends oftentimes, but all the work on your transactions happens during the week. Needless to say, this isn't a job -- it's a business that you start from scratch, albeit within the structure of your broker's office.