Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 09-22-2008, 09:51 AM
WAHM Fanatic

Hi Workout Pros,

I have been working out for about 2 years (elliptical, outdoor walking and weights).

Very recently, when I do my outdoor walking...I have bad pains in the front of my legs and the "front" of my ankles. I have to stop, sit down and rub my legs and ankles. I can't imagine what is causing this pain at this point since I am not new to exercise. It doesn't really feel like cramps.

Any ideas??

Shana
Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-2008, 10:23 AM
Awesome WAHM

So sorry to hear how you are feeling. The 1st thing that popped into my head was Shin splints. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shin_splints
I get them every once in a while and what I do is rub them down with ICE HOT or any other ointment or ice them for a good 20 minutes.

Here is a link for treatments:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&rls=com.microsoft:*:IE-SearchBox&rlz=1I7DKUS&pwst=1&q=shin+sp lints+more:condition_treatment&cx=disease_for_ patients&sa=N&oi=cooptsr&resnum=0& ct=col1&cd=1

I hope this helps.

~ Vilma
Old 09-22-2008, 12:57 PM
Awesome WAHM

I'm sorry to hear about your soreness Shana[img]smileys/smiley18.gif[/img]

Shin splints are definitely a possibility. It could also be a minor strain of the tibialis muscle that runs along the front of your leg from knee to ankle. Sometimes this can become sore when your calf muscles are tight or if you recently changed footwear, your walking route, etc. Has anything changed in your walking routine recently?

Coni

Old 09-22-2008, 01:36 PM
WAHM Fanatic