Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com >

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 03-06-2007, 10:01 AM
WAHM Regular

i have been seeing a lot of these diets. where you will subsitute a shake/bar in place of a meal... does these things really help hunger/cravings?

heres one i was looking at

http://www.newlifestylediet.com/plan.aspx
Sponsored Links
Old 03-06-2007, 10:19 AM
WAHM Addict

hmmm. Interesting plan. Well, this is only my opinion and I'm no expert, but I don't think it is nearly enough food.

I think shakes/bars are great as part of a well rounded diet but not as a replacement for an entire meal. The human body is meant to eat food.

I read an article called "Weight Loss Lies" and the subject of meal replacement shakes was covered:

...eating real food is better than drinking shakes. The human gastrointestinal system has evolved to efficiently digest whole food, not powders or pills. The process of digesting solid food every three hours actually increases your metabolic rate. This is known as the "thermic effect of food." Powders fail to take advantage of this metabolic boost.

"Food is the cornerstone of nutrition. If you donít eat the proper foods - lean proteins, starchy carbs, and fibrous carbs - nothing else matters. No supplement can ever provide you with all the benefits that food supplies. We were built to process foods - proteins, carbohydrates and fats - not powdered or liquid supplements alone. If you want to make the best possible progress with your physique, I suggest that you forget the hype surrounding all supplement diets or meal replacement programs and get back to basics. And that means food."

- John Parillo, Author of High Performance Bodybuilding
    Old 03-06-2007, 10:31 AM
    WAHM Master