WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

Sylvia A
10-08-2015, 09:14 AM
I've been very interested in general transcription for some time now, and am looking for advice on how to even begin to learn this skill. Difficulty - I am incredibly poor and cannot afford a training program. I'm sure there are many of you who can relate. This means I will have to be self taught. So, where to begin?

Seriously, where do I begin? What steps should I take, and in what order, to even begin to learn general transcription? Is there a style guide that is commonly used - or at least some sort of guide out there, somewhere, that will show me the parts to a transcribed work and how to know what goes where (as you can see, I have zero clue, which is why that came out so wonky)? I guess 'an explanation of the process, with included how-to' would be a slightly better description. Is there a free, online version of this information available that anyone is aware of?

I know practice will be a huge factor, and that's great - I love to type. I could type at you ALL DAY if I felt like it. However, I need to know what to practice, what is absolutely necessary to learn and then, if I am just so excited to know all this new stuff I might just explode into glitter, rainbows and candy, how to expand my knowledge base so I can actually make money on it.