WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

cindi8d
09-22-2013, 06:45 PM
Why is it important that your skin care be gluten free if you have a gluten sensitivity or intolerance?

Cindi

mandm'smommy
09-22-2013, 07:24 PM
I am by no means an expert, but because I had a friend ask me this question, I did a little bit of research and I think the information is a mixed bag. I did find some information that links gluten in skincare products to acne, eczema, and other skin conditions (if you have a gluten sensitivity, that is.) But then I saw a reputable skincare company dispute this.

The gluten protein is not absorbed by the skin, but there does seem to be emerging research showing that people with a gluten intolerance may also see benefits to their skin from removing sources of topical gluten. I don't have a gluten intolerance or sensitivity, but I could understand someone who does trying to avoid gluten not only internally but topically, just in case.

I am interested to see what others have to say.

Melissa

AprioriCandy
09-23-2013, 05:40 AM
Great Question, Cindi,
The Mayo Clinic says:
"“Gluten-containing skin care products and cosmetics aren’t a problem unless you accidentally swallow them. For this reason, avoid using such products on your lips or around your mouth. Also, avoid using gluten-containing dental products, such as certain mouthwashes and toothpastes. If you’re uncertain about whether a product contains gluten, check the ingredient list on the product label or contact the manufacturer.