WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

View Full Version : How to get started?

teachingmom
01-16-2013, 01:22 PM
I am desperately needing to get a flexible job to help with paying back my student loans. I have a masters in mathematics for middle/to highschool. I am currently working during the day as a teacher so I am looking for something in the evenings. I need to make $500 plus a month. I would love something where I can just grade, etc. However, the tutoring may be great I just have never done it. If anyone has any advice on how to get started, or where I would greatly appreciate it. Feeling a little desperate and I just don't want to go work outside of home for minimum wage at a fast food or retail joint if I don't have to. Thank you!

mankatogirl
01-16-2013, 01:49 PM
There are an abundance of online tutoring jobs,especially if you are good in math. Just start by googling, "Online math tutors" and then start applying!

On LinkedIn, there are several tutor groups that you could join.

Look every single day and apply at every single company that you think would be a fit for you.

When I started my journey teaching ESL online, I went back to an old and familiar web page called Dave's ESL Cafe. From there, I found links to online jobs and I applied. Have been working and have been making right around $500/month with tutoring 3 hours a day, five days a week.

I think the best advice is to join some LinkedIn Groups. With your skill set, you should be able to find some tutoring work!

Enjoy today and start your googling!

armymomof4
01-18-2013, 02:52 PM