WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

MartezJ
09-29-2012, 10:10 AM
I am wondering how long have any of you been online teachers and how does it pay for you? Is it required that you graduate from a four year university? I am just curious. :D

djunamod
09-30-2012, 12:52 AM
I've been teaching online for about 4 years. As for pay, it varies widely, depending on what level of class you're teaching (college, high school, etc) and whether you're teaching a class or tutoring. Each school and/or company has a different structure. Some pay by the course (which might seem like a big amount, but when you do the math as to the dollars per hour, it isn't that much) and some by the hour.

Most online teaching jobs I've seen require at least a BA and online college course teaching requires at least an MA and, in some cases, a PhD.

I'm sorry I can't give you a more specific answer, but there really isn't any. It just all depends who you're working for and what the course structure is.

Djuna

mankatogirl
10-01-2012, 07:10 PM
I have a few specifics to share with you.

Right now I teach for TutorABC out of Taiwan. I started in June of 2012. I work morning hours from 7:00-11:00 a.m. For three of those four hours, I teach students. The other hour is spent looking over the lessons and then giving feedback to students. For the three hours I teach, I am paid $8.50/hr with bonuses for ratings that are 8-10 on a scale of 1-10.