WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

View Full Version : Advertising and Deals

brookied18
09-29-2012, 02:01 AM
Hi all I am new to Scentsy so I am curious how you advertise your open houses. I just moved to Hawaii so I know maybe a total of 3 people here but I was hoping to have an open house anyways. Would you guys set up signs like a yard sale, that seems tacky to me but maybe it really works? I live on a military base so I can't really think of anything other then maybe passing flyers at the grocery store and hoping the few friends I know will pass the word on. Any advice on advertising to strangers would be awesome.

Another thing I noticed is that I'll see consultants having "deals" like free stuff or discounts. How does this work? Does it come out of their pocket?

mommy2005
09-29-2012, 08:17 AM
Hello There!

First of all, welcome to the Scentsy family. I know it can be hard when you are just getting started. But, having access to the ladies on base is great!

I always try to give out a business card with people I interact with during the day. You can leave them with a cashier or waitress when you pay the check. Some restaurants have a bulletin board where you can pin business cards on them.

A yard sale could maybe work, if you put signs in good places and hand out flyers. I've never tried it, but good idea.

I also use facebook to advertise my parties and try to get online orders that way. You can set up an event and send it to friends far away.

Just a couple of ideas! I hope it helps! Good luck!

LAscents
09-29-2012, 10:27 AM