WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

View Full Version : Pricing question

debs5065
05-28-2006, 07:50 AM
OK...I don't know if this has been addressed before, and if it has, my apologies ; ))

I've been selling on Ebay off and on for several years...pretty much stuff I had around the house (I had alot...hubby is a packrat)...

We have started going to live auctions locally and I have been buying alot of antique glass, depression, Fenton, and some collectible items...

My thought was, that I should list them for twice what I paid for them...however, in looking at some of my auctions that have closed recently, I'm beginning to rethink that...

Is there a hard and fast rule...should it be twice or three times what you paid?? My problem is this if I list it for twice what I paid and the item has to be relisted and doesn't sell til the 2nd time around...on an item I paid $5 for and resold for $10, I'm only making $2 or $3, if that because of the Ebay fees...

I recently opened a store and one of the things I've done is after I've listed something on auction twice, I put it into my store inventory. That way, the item is still getting exposure through my store and the fees are considerably less...

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated : ))

Thanks,
Deb

Kevin Peterson
05-30-2006, 11:03 AM
Someone from another board I frequent always makes the same comment: "Profits are made when you buy, not when you sell".