WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

View Full Version : Shipping on Ebay Question

MelindaJ
10-21-2010, 02:02 PM
I have been selling in Ebay for 4 years and I have always struggled with finding the cheapest way to ship out items for my buyers. I mostly sell infant/toddler clothes, toddler shoes and maternity clothes, so I do not have extremely heavy packages, but people tend not to bid on clothing items if the shipping is too much. I personally consider USPS too high on their flate rate packaging because I would have to use their medium size boxes to fit my clothes in and the flat rate is 10.95. I have used their envelopes, and the flat rate is 4.95 which is ok, but those do not always fit my items, especially if someone buys more than one of my items.

It is also not worth it to buy boxes or padded envelopes in the stores, because it usually is not cheaper, even if I send it Parcel Post. I wanted to know if anyone has used UPS or just has any other ideas? I am using Vendio now to sell my items on Ebay and I have also set up my own store so I plan on selling more items and I do not want to have to give up because I can't make a profit. Thanks for any input :)

ybnegood
10-21-2010, 05:02 PM
First of all INVEST in an electronic Scale. You should never use flat rate shipping unless the item is
very heavy. It is a waste of your money (and profit).

If you need padded envelopes, watch the listings on Ebay and shop carefully. But, since you are selling