Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > Professions > Writing: Freelancing
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via Yahoo to craftydelisa
Default Is this a scam?

After responding to an ad for an article marketer I got this email. Is this just a way to get people to join sites?

Thanks for your interest in the website reviewer position. We are currently looking for honest people with a keen eye for detail to visit various adult sites online and write the things they like and dislike about each. We will require 12 reviews per week which are due by 2pm EST every Friday.

The starting wage for this post is $350 per week which rises after 6 months. No previous experience is required for this position. The only requirement we have is that you submit a 100-word review of the member s area at a pre-selected site (exposedcelebrities.net). It's completely free to join so don't worry about any costs (be sure to cancel within 3 days or you will be billed).

Please submit this review to reviews@writers-guild.net within 48 hours if you're still interested. This position can be taken from anywhere, it's going to be a home-based position. If this isn't for you we thank you for your time.

Thanks for your time
Pauline Marshall
The Writer's Guild
__________________
Creating Your Art Rocks!
The Creativity Rebellionwww.thecreativityrebellion.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on WAHM!

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 368
Default

I think I've seen these mentioned before - SCAM.

Why would you have to register with your credit card information in order to get work? I would think someone really writing for them would be able to access the site without forking over financial information such as credit card numbers. Plus, that's basically $30 per 100 word review. Not likely legit.

I believe they are simply trying to attract more people to their site in hopes that some (and many will) forget to remove their credit card information. They get charged the fees and legally so since they gave their personal information away. I wouldn't do it if I were you.
__________________
So You Want To Be A Writer?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2010, 10:11 AM
EZDisplay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 62
Default

It definitely sounds like a scam to me..

Stay away!
__________________
EZDisplay - Easy Setup, Easy Sales
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2010, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 589
Default

Sounds like a biiggg scam!
__________________
I write for www.firehow.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2010, 03:51 PM
BerryWriter's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 905
Default

HUGE scam!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2010, 04:21 PM
Linda Hinkle's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,516
Send a message via Skype™ to Linda Hinkle
Default

Quote:
It's completely free to join so don't worry about any costs (be sure to cancel within 3 days or you will be billed).
to funny!
Reply With Quote
 
This ad will disappear if you login

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off