Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > Professions > Virtual Assistants
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 346
Default



I was wondering if anybody has any information on them?


Thank you,
__________________
Ruth Powell
www.ruthssecretarialservices.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on WAHM!

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2006, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 114
Default



Hi Ruth, You beat me to it. I was going to post to ask the same question. I keep getting emails from them about job openings but I was wondering why you have to download GoToMyPc even before you obtain a job. It always says its free, but gotomypc only gives you a 7 day free trial and in order to get the free trial you have to give them a credit card number. Sounds a little fishy to me. In all Virtual Office Temps job openings, the first thing it tells you to do before you even apply is to download. Anybody that has any info for us would really be appreciated. I hope we can find out some answers, Ruth.


__________________
Judy
Proud Grandma to Jacob
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 346
Default



There is a way to download the program without giving them a credit card number. I received the information when I asked about software. If you can do a search for software in this forum, you should find it. There is also one called LogMeIn that you can download a free version. I have downloaded that one.


__________________
Ruth Powell
www.ruthssecretarialservices.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 966
Send a message via ICQ to kerrinne
Default

I have applied for a position from their "posted jobs", but I'm thinking they are bogus. Because every time you do ANYTHING with them they recommend or require you to download some other software. With my submission for a job request, they told me to go download "callwave". I think these people are getting paid for some major clicks!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 346
Default

Maybe they have a share account in the software their trying to "sell".
__________________
Ruth Powell
www.ruthssecretarialservices.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 114
Default

Thanks Heather and Ruth, that's exactly what I was thinking. They want you to download software before you even apply for a job. Downloading the software before you apply for the job makes me a little suspicious.
__________________
Judy
Proud Grandma to Jacob
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 966
Send a message via ICQ to kerrinne
Default

PS - As as aside, I have not downloaded anything, but have applied for positions. So if I hear anything, I'll let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 346
Default

Please do.
__________________
Ruth Powell
www.ruthssecretarialservices.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 45
Default

I applied and did not download anything. That was a couple of weeks ago and I haven't heard anything. And callwave is crazy it has gotten rather expensive. No way. I'd get a second phone line first.
__________________
**Roxanne**
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-18-2008, 10:07 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default

Has anyone heard anything on this? I want to work at home but I don't want to get involved in a scam.
Reply With Quote
 
This ad will disappear if you login

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off