Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > Professions > Telecommuting Moms

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 174
Default Is WDStudios Inc., legit?

At the beginning of March, I saw the posting at Genuinejobs.com ( http://losangeles.craigslist.org/lac...641938576.html ) and I applied; after two days, I got the following response.

You have successfully passed the first pre-selection round of WDStudios internship recruitment process! Congratulations! The background and skills you've demonstrated have underlined your potential excellent qualification for this internship position and you should be proud of yourself! The second, and final stage, of our recruitment process involves an exercise in which you will be able to demonstrate the skills we’ve already read about in your resume.

In order to complete your internship application, please complete the following two steps:

* Please follow this link to sign-up for ©Intuit Websites. This will give you valuable insight into the core of the internship and at the same time will allows us to better evaluate your application. WDStudios has partnered with Intuit, and the service is offered as a fully-featured free trial. After you sign up, build a simple website presenting yourself with the Intuit web builder and email us at jobs@wdstudios.com the link to the web site which you've built. This exercise will take you 10-15 minutes to complete. No web design background is required.
* Follow this link to sign up for the eVoice toll free forwarding service. As part of your internship, you will be conducting phone calls with clients. After sign-up, please provide us with your eVoice phone number.

Both bullet points are required parts of your application.

The website you're going to build will be taken into consideration before making final decision on your application. The deadline for completion of your website and providing us with your eVoice number is March 8th at 9:00 PM. Afterwards, the application process will close. We expect to be notifying the people accepted to the internship by March 16th.

Good luck, and we're looking forward to your creativity!

Regards,


I first checked on google if they are legit or not and I found some information at yahoo.
Did anyone get an internship at RichFox Media? - Yahoo! Answers

They said it is legit, but what I am not comfortable about is, why I have to sign up with "intuit" and "eVoice" ahead of time? I mean I could sign in after I get hired if those services are needed.

When I saw free trial, I thought I won't be asked to put credit card information, but when I try to sign for intuit, on the second page, it asks for credit card information; I didn't put my credit card info, I stopped right there.

There are many hosting companies who give trial period without any credit card info; perhaps, I could show them the link of websites I made in the past.

I think WDStudios Inc. is letting people sign into those sites ahead of time whether they are going to be hired or not, because may be they are making money signing people; just like referring.

What do you think? Would you sign up with credit card information?

Last edited by Lihem; 03-21-2010 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on WAHM!

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 05:00 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,842
Default

Can you post the URLs of the two sign up links (for Intuit and eVoice) they gave you in the email? - We might be able to tell if those are referral/affiliate links or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 174
Default

Sorry, on my email the link is visible; when I paste it here, it didn't show up.

I clicked on my email link and I am pasting the two links here.

Link for intuit,

https://websites.intuit.com/~site/Sc...CRABANDON=TRUE

Link for eVoice,

eVoice From The Makers of eFax

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 05:24 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,842
Default

Hi,

Thanks for posting the links, sorry I should be more clear - I want the URLs of the links in your email, not the URLs of the links after you clicking them.

If you are using Firefox, Have your mouse over the link, right click, then chose the "Copy the Link Location", then paste.

If you are using IE, also have your mouse over, then right click, choose "Properties", there you can see the URL, copy and paste it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 05:47 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,842
Default

Okay, here is more I found out: both companies are promoting their services through CJ (a big affiliate network). From the link you provided for Intuit, I can not say anything for sure, but I am pretty sure the eVoice link is an affiliate link.

Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 174
Default

On my email, it is written as, "follow this link" inserted as a link; they did not provide a website. If I click on follow this link, I get the links I provided.

Based on what you have said, by doing mouse over and right clicking, for intuit, I found this, http://wdstudios.com/intuit.html and for eVoice, http://wdstudios.com/evoice.html

WDStudios appeared to me as an affiliate, because the website they attached as, "follow this link" looks an affiliate link; otherwise, if they are not affiliate, they should be providing the original site, for example for intuit, http://www.intuit.com/

Last edited by Lihem; 03-21-2010 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2010, 08:28 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,842
Default

You are correct Lihem.

Last edited by cibermom; 03-22-2010 at 01:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 05:02 AM
celestew84's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 536
Default

I think this may be just affiliate program or something cause when I search WD Studios i got this WDStudios. Seems like a company that helps people build websites possibly?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:55 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by celestew84 View Post
I think this may be just affiliate program or something cause when I search WD Studios i got this WDStudios. Seems like a company that helps people build websites possibly?
The scammer is using WDStudio's name, posting a fake job on Craigslist, and cashing in when "job applicants" sign up the Intuit and eFax offers. Loser.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2010, 12:33 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default eVoice Response

I'm the Marketing Manager for eVoice and I want to thank those that participated in this thread. Based on the information provided, I was able to identify the source of this issue as a member of our affiliate program. That affiliate has now been removed from our program.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
 
This ad will disappear if you login

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off