Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > Professions > Telecommuting Moms
New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login  

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 89
Default



princess3000,


That is the exact response I received.

I replied to that email with a couple of questions - like, what exactly is the "correspondence" and what kind of guarantee is there w/the payment, and how exactly will I receive payment.

If I get a response I'll post it.

It's so weird though! Don't ya think? I want to know what's in the mail they send!

If you go to the fwdlux.net website, it explains what they do w/mail forwarding. I'll c & p it:


"Our mail forwarding service is an
excellent way for a business or individual to establish their own
prestigious Luxembourg street address. Under the basic service, we receive
your mail here and forward it to you once a week. If you would
like, we can customize your service*, forward to different
locations and send mail on an expedited basis. Just let us
know!"


Interesting....but how would my mailing address be involved w/that? Maybe someone wants a "prestigious" Georgia street address hehe


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on WAHM!

  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 01:17 PM
EclecticWAHM's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1,772
Default

Sounds bizarre to me.
__________________
Paid Surveys
Blog
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,484
Default

Anyone can send mail to anyone else in the world. Why would a company need a "middleman" to do what they can do themselves - unless they're trying to cover up something illegal? I don't see how this could be "okay."

Blinky
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 183
Default

This could be legitimate. There are a number of legitimate mail forwarding companies. Just do a Google search for "mail forwarding".

Here is a quote from a website I found:

"People use mail forwarding services for a wide variety of different
reasons. Some people are "on the road" much of the time and don't want
their mail piling up in their home mail boxes; some people "just want"
a different address from their own; some people want certain kinds of
mail delivered to an address other than their home address; and then,
some people are trying to "hide" their true addresses." (http://www.interesting-information.c...forwarding.htm).

One thing that seems strange is the pay. $300 bi/weekly sounds too good to be true.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 522
Default

I have not received any reply from them yet. I made a few deliberate spelling/grammatical mistakes to check if I get a response. I don't know what to think of it. It could be legit. Their website list address, phone number and directions to their office. Only thing is, it is in Europe. Anyone going to Europe ? :-)
__________________
NON PHONE JOBS
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 522
Default




Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiemac

princess3000,


That is the exact response I received.

I replied to that email with a couple of questions - like, what exactly is the "correspondence" and what kind of guarantee is there w/the payment, and how exactly will I receive payment.

If I get a response I'll post it.

It's so weird though! Don't ya think? I want to know what's in the mail they send!

If you go to the fwdlux.net website, it explains what they do w/mail forwarding. I'll c & p it:


"Our mail forwarding service is an
excellent way for a business or individual to establish their own
prestigious Luxembourg street address. Under the basic service, we receive
your mail here and forward it to you once a week. If you would
like, we can customize your service*, forward to different
locations and send mail on an expedited basis. Just let us
know!"


Interesting....but how would my mailing address be involved w/that? Maybe someone wants a "prestigious" Georgia street address hehe

I am just guessing here, but it could be that a business based in the US wants an address in Luxembourg for local mail. Luxembourg Forward sets this up for them and then forwards the mail to the business in US. I think they may not have a setup in US to do this and hence they are recruiting people to receive these mail for them and forward them to the businesses that have signed up for this service. Again, I am just speculating.
Edited by: needwrk
__________________
NON PHONE JOBS
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 09:38 PM
Linda Hinkle's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,516
Send a message via Skype™ to Linda Hinkle
Default

What I'm wondering is what if your mail man would deliver all these packages to your house with other peoples names to your address[img]smileys/smiley36.gif[/img]
I live in a small town and I could just here all the talk now lol...

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 284
Default

I was thinking the SAME thing! In my town everyone knows everyone elses business as it is!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2009, 12:01 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

I found this while doing a little research on google.

https://www.usabox.com/consumeralert.asp
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2009, 02:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location:
Posts: 14
Default

well for what its worth - i got an offer via email to work for a company handling sending moneyto U.S. clients. Before I knew it, i had a "check" come to me in the mail that was supposedly legitimate for $2,163. well, one quick trip to the local Commerce bank proved that the check was worthless - i was supposed to take my "fee" of $250 for doing the collecting job and then western union the rest of the money!!! it just kept getting more ridiculous. so the moral is: well........ i don't know what the moral is - but i know this much - be VERY careful, my friend.
Reply With Quote
 
This ad will disappear if you login

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off