Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > Closed Forums > Lia Sophia

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.

Old 05-25-2006, 06:34 PM
WAHM Fanatic

[img]smileys/smiley1.gif[/img]

Hi...I'm new to this and was told to 'keep your receipts'. I know we can write off paper, pens etc. but can we write off gas? Or just mileage to/from shows, post office etc. How do you separate for tax man? Anyone write off their home/office or know how that works?
Sponsored Links

This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on WAHM!

Old 05-26-2006, 04:55 AM
WAHM Addict

Hi Rhonda, we were discussing this I think last month...Here is the link with the list we had created. Let us know if you think of anymore!

http://www.wahm.com/forum/forum_post...144727&KW= tax
Old 05-26-2006, 07:43 PM
Super WAHM

I just wanted everyone to know that you CANNOT write off the $6 + any gift certificate costs per show. This amount is deducted from your pay and is not included in your profit amount reflectedon the 1099 that the company sends you.

Sorry[img]smileys/smiley19.gif[/img]

Old 05-26-2006, 08:20 PM
Awesome WAHM

Contact an Accountant. They are the ones that know tax law and what you can and can't write off. You should find someone who is knowledgable in direct sales, is aggressive and you trust. And then keep EVERY receipt from anything that has to do with your business.

Old 05-29-2006, 06:01 PM
Awesome WAHM

I was told we COULD write off the $6- but not the gift certificate- The company does not take any tax out at all- we are responsible for that, and it comes out of our earnings- so I did that, (per H&R block)

Old 05-29-2006, 08:00 PM
Super WAHM