Go Back   WAHM Forums - WAHM.com > WAHM Life > Business Advice and Topics

Welcome to the WAHM Forums - WAHM.com.

Welcome to WAHM Forums

Already registered? Login above 

OR

To take advantage of all the site's features, become a member of the largest community of Work-At-Home Moms.

The advertising to the left will not show if you are a registered user.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 02:05 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default Is this legit?

I submitted my resume to a job offer on craigslist and got an email back stating that I would inteview via yahoo messenger today at 9AM. Interview went really well and I got offered the job. It's a CSR for an international cell phone comany. Paid training. The only thing I am concerned about it that I was told that I would be getting equipment ordered and that they would pay for it. Problem is, they are to send me a check when I receive that check I am to deposit it in my account and then go to their vendor and pay for the office equipment that is being held for me I know that there are alot of check cashing scams out there and I don't want to be the one to fall for that but on the other hand if it's legit and i missed my opportunity i don't want to miss out on it. HOw can i find out if this is a real deal or not? any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on WAHM!

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 02:10 PM
wahmofone's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sunny Cali Working at Home
Posts: 1,650
Send a message via Yahoo to wahmofone
Default

SCAM!!!!! I have been hearing alot of the yahoo and im 'interview' being scams. Anytime you have to 'deposit' money in your account and then go 'buy' something...RUN....the check they send you will be no good!! Glad you asked!!
__________________
Jayme Boyles ~ Now Interviewing ~ Work From Home with AmeriPlan F/t-P/t
www.WorkWithJayme.info 888-414-7063
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 02:49 PM
BobKononiuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 68
Default

I would be very hesitant here. If you did go forward with it, I would not buy anything until I knew that their check cleared and was legit. But be very aware.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alh1010 View Post
I submitted my resume to a job offer on craigslist and got an email back stating that I would inteview via yahoo messenger today at 9AM. Interview went really well and I got offered the job. It's a CSR for an international cell phone comany. Paid training. The only thing I am concerned about it that I was told that I would be getting equipment ordered and that they would pay for it. Problem is, they are to send me a check when I receive that check I am to deposit it in my account and then go to their vendor and pay for the office equipment that is being held for me I know that there are alot of check cashing scams out there and I don't want to be the one to fall for that but on the other hand if it's legit and i missed my opportunity i don't want to miss out on it. HOw can i find out if this is a real deal or not? any help would be appreciated.
With our current economy, lots of things going on and if it sounds too good to be true, it must be. Just be careful...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 06:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Yep, another sneaky version of the payment processor scam. They give you a fake check to cash, then get your money. It bounces a day or two later, and you lose your money AND have to pay a fee for the bounce. Sick, really, that people could be so selfish.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2011, 04:22 AM
LorettaA's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,287
Default

Yikes, definitely a scam. In the future you may want to research the company before responding to ads. Be very careful if the company does not provide their name, address, and contact information.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:21 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: In the present
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to Only1Golda
Default

Definitely a scam. My partner received one of those checks and it was fake.

Golda
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:23 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

thanks ladies. i am hesitant. red flag alert when he told me that he was sending me a check. would my bank be able to tell me right away if the check is legit or not? i guess i will ask them.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2011, 09:24 PM
BobKononiuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 68
Default

If you have them look into it they may be able to determine it pretty quick. But is still may take a few days.

Please be careful...too many red flags here.


Bob Kononiuk
Reply With Quote
 
This ad will disappear if you login

Reply

Tags
legit, scam, scam awareness

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off