WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.




View Full Version : Anyone heard of Steyn Consulting?


Kymberlyj
05-04-2011, 11:39 AM
Hey Everyone!!

I received a Careerbuilder.com email regarding a home based job opportunity with Steyn Consulting. I'm currently doing research on them, but I'm so skeptical of everything online. I was wondering if anyone out there has heard of them or worked for them, and if they are a legitimate company. I would like to assume that coming from Careerbuilder would mean legitimacy but you never know, and I'm new to all of this!!

Any help with this would be very much appreciated! :)

Thanks!
-K


butterbean
05-04-2011, 12:50 PM
I can't find anything on the company. Did they give you a website? Also, Career Builder does have A LOT of scams. If this place is asking you to use your bank account for any reason...RUN!

jobseeker11
05-05-2011, 05:52 PM
I joined this forum solely to reply/ask as well... I got an e-mail from these people via Careerbuilder.com a few days ago. A majority of my job-offer emails from Careerbuilder have been scams. I have been trying to search for info about them, but I can only seem to find their website.

I'm glad I can't find anything negative, but I want to know more about this company...


Did you end up contacting them?


wahmedic
05-06-2011, 03:02 AM
I found this, don't know if its the same place but if you google Steyn Consulting you get quite a bit of info, but like I said I don't know if it is the same company. Did they tell you what they do? Where they are located? Anyway here is what I found. Hope this is it and it helps.:D
STEYN CONSULTING (http://steynconsulting.org/index.php)

butterbean
05-06-2011, 07:25 AM
whois.net states the site was just opened April 12th, and they are in Russia. I ran the link above posted by wahmedic. Be very, very cautious. If we had more info about the position, company, etc., we could help you figure it out better. I have a bad feeling about this one.

deuseme
05-09-2011, 11:10 AM
I received the same e-mail. But had no doubt about its nature.
I will not say what the telltale signs are, for scammers might be perusing these very forums.

Regardless, whenever they even imply that you might act as a third person between exchanging funds, run like hell. It is most assuredly a money laundering/cash advance scam.
Unless you used to handle these kind of transactions for a living, stay away AND RUN. Don't click on their link, don't send any e-mails. Just delete it.

The golden rule in these kind of situations is asking yourself a few questions:
1. Why me? Does it make sense that with your resume or whatever other resources you posted on internet someone would offer that position, with that kind of responsibility and duties etc.?
2. Are the job requirements specific or rather generic?
# Location in USA
# Full legal age
# Confident PC user
# Repeated email check
# Possibility to answer a telephone call any time
# Responsibility and communicability
# Exceptional people skills

A lot of people can identify with these. And note the absence of any particular skill. This is part of the hook.

3. What do I know about the company that offer me this job? RESEARCH. Don't believe what they say just because it's on their website. Crossreference your sources. Has anybody reported them as scam artists? If not is it because they are legit or maybe they are using a NEW FACE/NAME?

In the far far chance that this was legit, I'd rather err on the safe side, and so should all of you.

Hope this helps.

RUN.

Oh and @$%% you scammers. May you get all what you deserve.