WAHM Forums
The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.
View Full Version : Could this be a scam?
my3suns
03-04-2010, 11:37 AM
I'm wary of any data entry job I find but thought I researched this one pretty thoroughly. I found a job posting through LinkedIn. It was through an employment agency called The Recruiter Source. I filled out their online application and today received a text message on my cell asking me to call an 877 number. When I called that number, it was a totally different company called Career Network. She just said they were a 3rd party doing application verification and she just went over my phone, email and address with me and said that she was going to forward my application on and that the hiring manager would be calling me. Has anyone else gone through something similar and did the opportunity end up being legit? I just found it strange that they texted my phone and not left a voicemail. Then to have this Career Network be the place I was calling and not Recruiter Source..I'm leery of the whole deal now.
I did check the WhoIs on the website for Recruiter Source and looked legit. Not listed on the BBB though.
Wanted to add: I did much more research on Career Network and feel that this is a possible scam. I found many postings that had similar conversations that I did with the person on the other end and this company seems to use many aliases posing as employment agencies. I searched and searched for info on The Recruiter Source and now found this: http://www.mywot.com/en/forum/5029-the-recruiter-source-therecruitersource-com-phishing-scam There was nothing about the posting that was a "too good to be true" type of thing. I do not mean to defame The Recruiter Source in any way, shape or form but just wanted to give everyone a heads up since when I searched the forums on a few job sites, this company didn't show up.
I did check the WhoIs on the website for Recruiter Source and looked legit. Not listed on the BBB though.
Wanted to add: I did much more research on Career Network and feel that this is a possible scam. I found many postings that had similar conversations that I did with the person on the other end and this company seems to use many aliases posing as employment agencies. I searched and searched for info on The Recruiter Source and now found this: http://www.mywot.com/en/forum/5029-the-recruiter-source-therecruitersource-com-phishing-scam There was nothing about the posting that was a "too good to be true" type of thing. I do not mean to defame The Recruiter Source in any way, shape or form but just wanted to give everyone a heads up since when I searched the forums on a few job sites, this company didn't show up.
customcat2000
03-04-2010, 07:36 PM
All of those places who want to do a "verification process" are going to eventually ask you for a credit card or sensative personal information. Don't fall for it!