WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.




View Full Version : Warning - Suspcious company


Hope4you
02-04-2010, 08:13 AM
I was browsing craigslist and came across a ad that looked very legit for a customer service position

I reply and got a response back saying this

I will like to inform you that the Hiring Department of the company (FONEFINDER INC) has viewed your resume to our AD posted on(Craigslist.com) seeking for employment and we believe you are capable for an opened Customer Service position in our firm.

In this position,your essential job duties are answering customer inquiries about their accounts,providing information on interest rates and billing information,familiar with the internet and email and ability to work independently (we are not interested in babysitting!)

Work hours is from 9am-2:30pm ...Mon-Fri and you are also expected online at yahoo messenger during working hours.

Daily task will be given to you online at yahoo messenger and also via email

You will earn $13/hr for this position

To proceed further,you are entitled to an interview online via yahoo IM(Instant Message).

I want you to create a yahoo IM id if you don't have any and have this id IM (hiri**@yahoo.com) Mrs Lacey Crawford the personnel Manager for the commmencement of the interview with you briefly.

She is always available online within the hours of 9am-2pm CST,8am-1pm MST,10am-3pm EST Mon-Fri for interview.



Best Regards

Personnel Manager

Mrs Lacey Crawford

I proceeded to do a interview with this company they asked me a couple of questions and said the owner said I was hired

She told me to look at the website to learn more about there company and then she asked me do I have a specific computer and copier I explained I didn't

She then told me that i would need to have something called a svg which included training material and access to their site and other stuff and it was $150 dollars

Please be aware of this if anybody know anything more please let us know more -- red flags I will not proceed with this I have all kind of red flag vibes


luvthttabby
02-04-2010, 11:09 AM
Smells like a scam especially about interviewing over yahoo. Are they asking you to pay $150? If so run.

danasurvey
02-04-2010, 03:28 PM
I agree. Sounds like a scam to me too. Thanks for posting the warning.


notary_mom
02-04-2010, 05:05 PM
The broken english was a huge red flag to me.

cstmec
02-04-2010, 06:13 PM
If you have the direct email they used to contact you then you can check it on Flake List. I believe it's flakelist.com and that will let you know if it has been posted as a scam email but others. It does look pretty bad though.

sarahlorrain
02-05-2010, 11:40 AM
Thank for posting this! I agree that the broken English and the $150 fee were huge red flags.