WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.




View Full Version : Anyone know if this is legit?


WahmMomma
06-22-2009, 07:21 AM
I ran across this today and I was curious if anyone else may have checked into it. Here is the link: http://boss-news.com/


Lisakd
06-22-2009, 08:41 AM
Looks too good to be true to me. The only thing in the article that looks legit to me is San Mateo, CA. I know that's real because that's where I live! http://www.wahm.com/forum/smileys/smiley4.gif

Lisa

ps I would be curious to see others' thoughts on this, though.

GrinAndBearIt
06-22-2009, 08:55 AM
I found this info:

On April 24, 2009 the Texas Attorney General’s Office announced charges
for operating a fraudulent work-at-home scheme against Infusion Media
Inc, GoogleTreasureChest.com, InternetIncomeInitiative.com, and
Jonathan D. Eborn (”Defendants”), whose “GoogleMoneyTree.com” promised
six-figure earnings for conducting specialized Google and Yahoo
Internet searches. According to the state’s enforcement action,
GoogleMoneyTree failed to clearly inform purchasers that they had been
enrolled in monthly memberships and had only seven days to cancel their
trial membership. Purchasers who failed to cancel within seven days
were automatically charged $82 on their credit card statements each
month. In addition to the unexpected credit card charges, customer
complaints obtained by state investigators indicate that
GoogleMoneyTree failed to actually send the “free kit” and refused to
honor customer refunds. The state is seeking an injunction, civil
penalties of up to $20,000 per violation of the Texas Deceptive Trade
Practices Act, as well as restitution for purchasers.

Here's the link I got it from: http://www.blogstorm.co.uk/easy-google-profit-scam/


luvmytwins
06-22-2009, 09:28 AM
Hi Ladies,

I had also looked into this recently and found it to be another scam smileys/smiley6.gif

I don't know if you noticed or not, but when I opened up the link, the story about the woman said that she lived in Fuquay-Varina, NC, which is where I live. Other people had written on another board that when they opened up the link, the story said that the woman lived in the town that they lived in....kind of sneaky. It makes you feel a personal connection to the person in the story and would make you more likely to buy!

From what I have heard, these companies claiming to help you make money on google, are not even part of google and are mostly scams.

Sorry.....wish it were better news.

danasurvey
06-22-2009, 09:46 AM
I also thought it sounded to good to be true. Thanks GrinAndBearIt and luvmytwins for verifying that it is indeed a scam.

Lisakd
06-22-2009, 09:47 AM
Well, I guess the one part I thought was legit (my home town) is also NOT legit. Thanks, ladies, for the additional info!

Lisa

WahmMomma
06-22-2009, 10:22 AM
Thank you everyone for the info

jiminic2
06-22-2009, 11:01 AM
I was amazed that this is a scam, because it's advertised on this site. That's where I first found it. I "googled" the 2 plans that are mentioned in order to do this job, and one of the first things that came up was scam. It's low cost at first, then there are monthly charges that they don't tell you about at first. My city also came up in the first paragraph and I was tempted to call her.

sarhaj
06-22-2009, 11:44 AM
wow Thats good to know that it is a scam. You need to be careful with what you do online. A lot of things seem to be scams. If its too good to be true it most likely is.