WAHM Forums

The WAHM community forum was created to be a place for work at home moms to share their ideas and stories. In the forum you can find information about work at home jobs, starting home businesses, avoiding scams, and surviving the WAHM lifestyle. In support of the WAHM community, WAHM.com also features instructional articles, easy recipes, as well as job and business listings tailored specifically to work at home opportunities.

RitaW
11-26-2007, 07:16 PM
Hello everyone,

I have been working at home for approximately 8 years as a radiology transcriptionist. I am so burned out. My income has steadily decreased over the past several years from our main office adopting voice recognition programs. My income has fallen from a high of almost 65,000 with full benefits (which is great considering this is an at-home position) to a low of about $34,000. I am a single parent of two kids and I need to make more money. I picked up a PTmt job to supplement my income but at .09 a line I ammaking on average $9 per hour...totally sucks.

I am seriously considering taking the course from CareerStep for coding. Can anyone tell me that they have used CareerStep and found a job?? were happy with the training?

Also, are there any MT who have switched to coding who make more money in coding?? (please tell me yes! LOL)

I am so desperate that I will even consider going to work in an office. After 8 years at home I am ready to be near some adults.

Thanks for any feedback.

Rita

ut_mom
11-27-2007, 11:47 AM
Rita- Welcome! I haven't done transcrption before but with your medical terminology and knowledge of anatomy I am sure it will come easy for you. I don't have experience with Career Step but I have a friend who has with great sucess.

I don't know if that helps but let me know if you have more questions.

RitaW
11-27-2007, 01:52 PM
Thanks Samantha. has your friend finished their program? was she able to fined a job fairly easily? Thanks again.

Rita

Homegirl